APR 2021  
Count of Water Birds in Thiruvananthapuram Goes Up

A 36 per cent hike was observed in the total count of birds compared to the previous year during the Asian Waterbird Census (AWC) carried out in the district recently in connection with PAN Asia AWC.

Birdwatchers counted 74 species of water birds in 11 sites. Asian Water bird Census in the capital validates the need for wetland conservation. A total of 4372 individual birds, including 30 migratory species, were observed. In 2020, 3206 individual avians belonging to 52 species were noted in 10 sites. Whimbrel, black-tailed godwit, lesser black-backed gull, black capped kingfisher, and peregrine falcon were some of the unique species observed this year.


© TERI 2020

Nominations open for CSP Today India awards 2013

The inaugural CSP Today India awards ceremony takes place on March 12, and CSP developers, EPCs, suppliers and technology providers can now be nominated.

CSP has made tremendous progress since the announcement of the Jawaharlal Nehru National Solar Mission in 2010. With Phase I projects now drawing closer to completion, the first milestone in India's CSP learning curve is drawing closer. CSP Today has chosen the next CSP Today India conference (12-13 March, New Delhi) as the time for the industry to reflect upon its progress and celebrate its first achievements.

At the awards ceremony, industry leaders will be recognized for their achievements in one of 4 categories: CSP India Developer Award, CSP India Engineering Performance Award, CSP India Technology and Supplier Award, and the prestigious CSP India Personality of the Year.

Matt Carr, Global Events Director at CSP Today, said at the opening of nominations that “CSP Today are excited to launch these esteemed awards, which will enhance the reputation of their recipients. I am particularly excited to launch the CSP India Personality of the Year award, a distinguished honor for the industry figure deemed worthy by their peers.”

All eyes will be on the CSP Today India 2013 Awards when nomination entry closes on February 4 and the finalists are announced on February 11. The awards are open to all industry stakeholders to nominate until February 4 at or by e-mail to

Matt Carr
+44 (0) 20 7375 7248