MAR 2020  
In Conversation
In Memorium- Dr R K Pachauri: A Visionary for Sustainable Development

Dr Rajendra K Pachauri was born on 20 August 1940 in the Nainital district of Uttarakhand, India. He was educated at La Martiniere College in Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh and at the Indian Railways Institute of Mechanical and Electrical Engineering in Jamalpur, Bihar.

In 1981, Dr Pachauri assumed his responsibilities as the Chief Executive of TERI (The Energy and Resources Institute). He led the institute for more than three decades and demitted office as Executive Vice Chairman of TERI in March 2016.

In April 2002, Dr Pachauri was elected the Chairman of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. As Chairman of IPCC, he was instrumental in carrying its messages beyond the scientific community, and in turning it into a household word for credible climate fundings. He received the Nobel Peace Prize on behalf of the IPCC, along with former US Vice President Al Gore, for the year 2007. The Nobel Prize recognized IPCC for its “efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change”.

To acknowledge his immense contributions to the field of environment, Dr Pachauri was awarded the Padma Bhushan in January, 2001. He was conferred with the Padma Vibhushan, India’s second highest civilian award, for his services in the field of science and engineering in January 2008.

He was also bestowed the “Officier De La Légion D’Honneur”by the Government of France in 2006.

He had served as a Visiting Professor, Resource Economics, at the West Virginia University (August 1981–August 1982); Senior Visiting Fellow, Resource Systems Institute, East-West Center, USA (May–June 1982); and Visiting Research Fellow, The World Bank, Washington, D.C. (June–September 1990). Recognizing his vast knowledge and experience in the energy-environment field, the United Nations Development Programme appointed him as part-time adviser to its Administrator in the fields of energy and sustainable management of natural resources (1994–99).

He also authored 23 books and several papers and articles.

Dr Pachauri’s wide-ranging expertise had resulted in his membership of various international and national committees and boards. At the international level, these include his positions as a member of the International Advisory Board of Toyota Motor Corporation, Japan (April 2006 onwards);  Board of the International Solar Energy Society (1991–97); and of the World Resources Institute Council (1992). He was also President and Chairman, International Association for Energy Economics, Washington, D. C. (1988, 1989–90, respectively); and President of the Asian Energy Institute (1992 onwards). He had also joined the board of the Global Humanitarian Forum, founded by former United Nations Secretary General, Kofi Annan.

As Maya Angelou had once said, “My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive,”Dr Pachauri’s vision too shall continue to ‘thrive’ as our mission.

© TERI 2020

Nominations open for CSP Today India awards 2013

The inaugural CSP Today India awards ceremony takes place on March 12, and CSP developers, EPCs, suppliers and technology providers can now be nominated.

CSP has made tremendous progress since the announcement of the Jawaharlal Nehru National Solar Mission in 2010. With Phase I projects now drawing closer to completion, the first milestone in India’s CSP learning curve is drawing closer. CSP Today has chosen the next CSP Today India conference (12-13 March, New Delhi) as the time for the industry to reflect upon its progress and celebrate its first achievements.

At the awards ceremony, industry leaders will be recognized for their achievements in one of 4 categories: CSP India Developer Award, CSP India Engineering Performance Award, CSP India Technology and Supplier Award, and the prestigious CSP India Personality of the Year.

Matt Carr, Global Events Director at CSP Today, said at the opening of nominations that “CSP Today are excited to launch these esteemed awards, which will enhance the reputation of their recipients. I am particularly excited to launch the CSP India Personality of the Year award, a distinguished honor for the industry figure deemed worthy by their peers.”

All eyes will be on the CSP Today India 2013 Awards when nomination entry closes on February 4 and the finalists are announced on February 11. The awards are open to all industry stakeholders to nominate until February 4 at or by e-mail to [email protected]

Matt Carr
+44 (0) 20 7375 7248
[email protected]