MAR 2018  
Maharashtra Proposes Ban on Five Pesticides

Maharashtra's agriculture department has sought views on a proposal to suspend the sale and use of five types of pesticides which were found to be used by victims of the killer spray in the cotton fields of Vidarbha. Thirty-nine farmers have reportedly died in different districts of the region with Yavatmal registering the highest toll of 21. Thousands have taken ill as well. The department is considering a 60-day ban on sale of these pesticides in Yavatmal, Amravati, Akola, Buldhana, and Washim districts. The pesticides are: 1. profefonos 40 Percent + cypermethrin 4 Percent; 2. fipronil 40 Percent + imidacloprid 40 Percent; 3. acephate 75 Percent; 4. difenthiron 50 Percent; and 5. monochrotophos 36 Percent.


© TERI 2017

Nominations open for CSP Today India awards 2013

The inaugural CSP Today India awards ceremony takes place on March 12, and CSP developers, EPCs, suppliers and technology providers can now be nominated.

CSP has made tremendous progress since the announcement of the Jawaharlal Nehru National Solar Mission in 2010. With Phase I projects now drawing closer to completion, the first milestone in India’s CSP learning curve is drawing closer. CSP Today has chosen the next CSP Today India conference (12-13 March, New Delhi) as the time for the industry to reflect upon its progress and celebrate its first achievements.

At the awards ceremony, industry leaders will be recognized for their achievements in one of 4 categories: CSP India Developer Award, CSP India Engineering Performance Award, CSP India Technology and Supplier Award, and the prestigious CSP India Personality of the Year.

Matt Carr, Global Events Director at CSP Today, said at the opening of nominations that “CSP Today are excited to launch these esteemed awards, which will enhance the reputation of their recipients. I am particularly excited to launch the CSP India Personality of the Year award, a distinguished honor for the industry figure deemed worthy by their peers.”

All eyes will be on the CSP Today India 2013 Awards when nomination entry closes on February 4 and the finalists are announced on February 11. The awards are open to all industry stakeholders to nominate until February 4 at or by e-mail to

Matt Carr
+44 (0) 20 7375 7248